Idle Ironman

28 Mar

Idle Ironman

The OKC YMCAs are doing an Ironman Triathlon during the month of March. They’re calling it the Idle Ironman, and you just have to complete the full Ironman distance (2.4 mile swim, 112 mile bike, and 26.2 mile run) over the 31 days of March. Having completed a sprint triathlon last fall I thought it might be kind of fun and a good challenge, so I signed up. It probably wasn’t my smartest plan since for the first two weeks of the month I was busy preparing to leave town and out of town. Sure I had grand plans of squeezing in some workouts while I was in Texas at SXSW (ya right), but that didn’t really happen.

So I returned from Texas with just over two weeks of March left and well over half of my distance to go. Eek!

I’ve been working hard these past two weeks, and as of last night I’m down to 2 miles of swimming, 39 miles of biking, and just 6 miles of running left. I’d feel a little better if I had a mile of swimming knocked out already, but I’ve got a plan and I’m determined to finish in the four days I’ve got left.

If you’re looking for me this weekend I’ll probably be at the gym.

28th: 1 mi swim, 13 mi bike, 3 mi run
29th: 3 mi run, 13 mi bike
30th: 1 mi swim, 13 mi bike
31st: Hopefully I’m done and can go home and relax after rowing practice! If I’m not I’ll just finish up.

Leave a Reply

