Triathlon Training

28 Aug

TieDyeTri_2013_logo

I signed up today, so I’m officially participating in the Tie-Dye Tri. It’s been a goal of mine since high school to do a triathlon, and hopefully on September 15th I’ll be able to check that off the list.

Back in May I found a really good deal on a tri suit and that sort of started the ball rolling. Nate found the Tie-Dye Tri and a training plan and suggested we try for it.

I have to admit I’ve been following the above training plan pretty roughly. It’s not an easy thing to go from 1 to 2 gym visits a week to 6. I’m there 3 to 4 days a week and generally take the weekends off. I realize now the extra distances on the weekend are there to push you past the the minimum requirement, so next time I’ll have to work to incorporate some longer runs and bikes.

It’s been so helpful to have my gym buddies Elena and Kaylee at the gym with me a time or two each week. While they’re not training for a tri it’s nice to have a friend to motivate you to make it to the gym. If there’s a next time I’ll have to talk someone who’s a member at the Y like I am to train too. I feel like that would really bump the enjoyment level of training up several notches!

A local celebrity who’s done lots of triathlons posted some of her times, and I copied them down a while back as good goals. She is obviously a much stronger runner than me, but it’s something to shoot for.

Her times:

Total Time: 1:21:18
Swim: 9:43
Bike: 43:40
Run: 25:50 (8:38 pace)

My goals:

Total time: 1:32:50Swim: 9:20
Bike: 45:00
Run: 34:00

I guess I’m feeling pretty good that my body will make it to the finish line, because the two concerns on my mind lately have been goggles breaking and getting a flat tire.

So that’s that. If you have any tri tips or even tips specific to one of the three legs I’ll gladly take them!

ThumbsUpBike

Leave a Reply

