Roller Derby Weekend

18 Jun

RollerDerby2
My cousin and some of her family were in town this weekend for her roller derby bout. She’s been doing roller derby for two and a half years, and since she was coming with her team from Lubbock to have a bout with one of the OKC teams it was a great opportunity for me to experience my first roller derby and see her skating.

RollerDerby1
The rules seem fairly simple four blockers from each team are on the track and they try to block the other team’s jammer (there’s just one jammer for each team) from getting by. Each opposing team blocker that the jammer gets by is a point scored. There are of course other rules about going out of bounds and hitting people in areas of the body that are off limits, but if you’re wondering I’m sure you can look them up.

It seemed pretty chaotic and at times painful to me, but the skaters and refs seem to know what they’re doing for the most part. The picture below is a decent illustration. My cousin (on the left in black and purple) and her teammates are trying to block the girl with the star on her helmet (the jammer) from getting by.

RollerDerby4

Sadly my cousin’s team lost, but it was still fun to watch. I don’t think I’ll be signing up to play anytime soon, but if she’s ever back in town for a bout I’ll be there to cheer!
RollerDerby3

Leave a Reply

