deadCENTER Film Festival 2013

11 Jun

deadCENTER

OKC’s deadCENTER film festival was this past week/weekend and as usual the parts I attended were awesome. We tossed around getting passes this year, but in the end just caught the free stuff. I always enjoy the small bit of the festival I attend because it’s almost always a film I wouldn’t pick to see, but it ends up being great. They always do an opening night and closing night film that are free, open to the public and generally outside somewhere. In addition to those two, this year, they did a few more. Each was to benefit a charity that’s helping tornado victims in some way. (All film images below are from deadcenterfilm.org.)


The first night we saw The Rolling Stones: Charlie is My Darling. It was pretty good and due to weather inside at the art museum theater, so we had the bonus of cushy chairs. We all commented that the whole film could have used subtitles because the Stones were mumbling British guys.


Friday night we watched The Last of the Mohicans. I thought maybe I’d seen it before, but I didn’t recognize any of it. The movie was good but very gory.


Saturday night was my favorite of the films I saw. The Short Game. No one wanted to see it, but Nate agreed to come along, and we both ended up really enjoying it. It’s about several 7-year-old golfers who are competing in the world championships. It was funny and a great story that really got you into these kids lives and golf even if you’re not a golf fan (I am not). The film did a great job of building to the end and having you wonder who was going to win the tournament, so when it started pouring with minutes left in the film we were super disappointed and had to leave wondering who won!


Sunday night they combined the concert series with a film showing, so the gardens were hopping. The film was Stevie Nicks: In Your Dreams and it was interesting because I didn’t know anything about her (including that she is a girl), but by far my least favorite of the weekend. Unlike the short game I think you need to be a Stevie Nicks fan to really enjoy this one. We also tried to go to a showing of Okie Shorts ($10), but like many films this weekend they were sold out. I guess a pass might be a good plan for next year.
DevonTower

Leave a Reply

