I Love Local Restaurants – LOCAL

26 Feb

The weekend after Valentine’s Day Nate took me to LOCAL in Norman for a little Valentine’s dinner. We’d both been wanting to try LOCAL since it opened last year, so we were pretty excited. I think a lot of other people had the same idea as us – to go out not on Valentine’s Day – so there was a little wait before we could be seated. We were in no hurry though, so it wasn’t a problem.

NSLocal

Their seating area is rather large (Nate told me he thinks the space used to be a Furr’s Cafeteria), so it was exciting to see a local spot so busy!

LOCAL is a member of Keep it Local, so once seated we ordered truffle chips which you get for free with your card. They came with three dipping sauces my favorite of which was the ketchupy barbeque sauce.

They do their menu seasonally and focus on foods that are local, sustainable, and in season. The menu was fairly small (1 page) but still managed to cover a wide range of foods from meat loaf to pasta and vegetables. I tend to be a terrible decision maker, so fewer choices are always good for me! Another thing I noticed was that over half the menu items had special markings next to them indicating that they were or could be prepared Vegan, Vegetarian, or Gluten Free. While I don’t keep to a meat or gluten free diet I have several friends that do, so it’s nice to know that LOCAL will gladly prepare meals to their needs. Nate ordered stacked enchiladas, and I asked our waitress if she would recommend the ratatouille or primavera. She said definitely the primavera.

I had intended to take a picture of our plates when they arrived because I knew they would look fantastic. You’ll just have to trust me that they looked so fantastic that we both dug right in, and I completely forgot about taking a picture! Nate’s enchiladas were tasty right down to the pickled onion (who would have thought pickled onion was even a good idea!). My primavera was just as good as our waitress promised. The pasta and pesto combination was topped with green beans, broccoli, mushrooms, egg plant, and probably other vegetables I’m forgetting. My favorite part was that the green beans and broccoli still had just a little crunch left. Just as we were eating our last bites I remembered my plan to take pictures, so  here’s a picture of our two clean plates.

LocalNorman

After dinner we had discussed heading back to the city and stopping by Cuppies and Joe for dessert, but our meals were so good (and I’d just had a cupcake from Cuppies the day before) that we decided to splurge on dessert at LOCAL. Boy was that a good decision! Our waitress recommended the Sticky Toffee Pudding which was a delicious warm bread pudding with crunchy toffee bits. I’m not sure that I’ve ever tried bread pudding before, but that one sold me on it.

BreadPudding

So, after one meal I’m a big fan of LOCAL. The metro has another restaurant or two that do the small seasonal menu focusing on local items, but this one, in my opinion does it right for everyone. It’s reasonably priced, and I think anyone, no matter how unadventurous your taste buds are, could find something to like on the menu. So check out LOCAL! I was just browsing their website and they offer so much more that I didn’t even cover: a kids play/eating area, a market that includes to-go meals, a private gallery/eating area for events.

LOCAL
2262 West Main Street
Norman, OK 73069
Tuesday – Thursday 11 a.m. – 10 p.m.
Friday – Saturday 11 a.m. – 11 p.m.
Sunday 10 a.m. – 3 p.m.

Leave a Reply

