Japanese Curry

25 Jan

When I studied abroad in Japan I arrived probably never having had curry, and after trying it the first time I don’t think it was something I was head over heels crazy for. But there was a group of ladies at the school we attended that would prepare a free curry lunch on Wednesdays. Being a poor college student I was not one to turn down a free lunch, so every Wednesday for a month I’d eat curry. It must have grown on me because when I returned home at the end of the semester it was a meal I craved.

A couple years later a good friend of mine who’d taught English in Japan recommended S&B Golden Curry mix. It’s a curry base that she’d bought and made in Japan and then later found at grocery stores in the States. I prefer the mild or medium hot sauces, but it comes in hotter versions too.

GoldenCurry

This curry is really easy to make, and it’s hearty and perfect for cool weather. I follow the directions on the box, and it comes out perfect every time. The box offers some meat and vegetable suggestions and amounts; the ones below are my favorites. The nice thing is you can really use as much or as little of each vegetable as you’d like. I have a 12″ frying pan, and I just fill it up.

curry

Japanese Curry

Ingredients
Curry Mix (the smaller 3.5 oz box) (if you get the 8 oz box just use half of the cubes)
1-1 1/2 lbs chicken breast
onion
garlic
carrots (baby carrots work great and you don’t have to peel and chop them)
potatoes
bell peppers
frozen peas
rice

Directions

  1. Cut 1 to 1-1/2 lbs of chicken into bite sized pieces.
  2. Dice onion and garlic.
  3. While your curry cooks prepare your rice.
  4. In a large skillet, stir-fry chicken, onion and garlic in oil until lightly browned, about 3 minutes. Add carrots, potato, and bell pepper (all chopped to bite size pieces).
  5. Add 3 cups of water and bring to a boil. Reduce heat, cover and simmer until chicken, potatoes and carrots are tender, about 10 minutes.
  6. Break Golden Curry Sauce Mix into small pieces and add to pot stirring until sauce is completely melted.
  7. Add frozen peas.
  8. Simmer for another 5 minutes or so stirring constantly. (If sauce becomes too thick, just add water)
  9. Pour over freshly cooked rice.
Leave a Reply

