Thanksgiving Cranberry Sauce

26 Nov

I think my favorite dish at thanksgiving is the cranberry sauce. I do love how it tastes, but I also enjoy my family’s tradition of making it each year. My mom has a glass pot that we cook the cranberries in, and when my brother and I were little we’d stand and watch the cranberries pop while they cooked. (If you’ve never cooked cranberries when they heat up their skin splits making a popping noise.)

I probably didn’t try (or know it existed) canned cranberry sauce until I was in high school. I haven’t had the canned enough times to know if homemade is any better or tastes any different, but it’s crazy easy to make so you might as well try it out!

Cranberry Sauce

Ingredients
1 bag of fresh cranberries
1 c. Sugar
1 c. Water

Directions
Wash the berries in water and sort out any that are mushy or have bad spots.
Heat water and sugar on the stove until they boil.
Add berries and cook for 5-10 min until berries have all burst.
Remove pot from heat and cool.
Refrigerate sauce until time to serve.

Leave a Reply

