September’s Garden

17 Sep

The garden had some rough patches this summer with the heat, and the zucchini hardly had a chance with the vine borers and squash bugs. But here we are in September, and the plants that are still alive are doing quite well. The tomato plants are doing the best, and it looks like we’ll probably get a second crop! I did find probably a 3in long tomato hornworm on one of the plants (I should’ve taken a picture but I was too grossed out and didn’t think to) just munching away. He took a nice sudsy bath in a bowl of soapy water. Ick!

The weather has been gorgeous the past two weekends, so I got out and got some fall veggies planted (various lettuce, spinach, carrots, fava beans, peas, turnips, and endive). I haven’t ever done a fall garden and I realize some of these are going into the ground a bit late, but we’ll just see what happens.

Nate also got a fall corn patch planted.

I’d still like to pick up some garlic and onions to add to my fall garden. And I’m wondering when this watermelon will be ready?

Leave a Reply

