Baby Taggie

9 Aug

I got my sewing machine out last night to mend some clothes and to work on a couple sewing projects I had in mind. The first was a taggie for a shower I’m attending this weekend.

My good friend Elyse (who is an amazing photographer) introduced me to taggies a couple of years ago. We figured out how to make them for a baby shower we were going to (the picture above is of the first one we made), and I’ve been making them for every baby shower I’ve attend since! I didn’t time how long this one took, but I knocked it out while watching the Olympics. They’re easy and super cute, and people almost never realize they’re handmade!

If you want to make one a few tips:

  • Wash and dry your fabric before you start. This will make sure if the taggie is washed later it won’t shrink and get funky along the seams.
  • I started out with fabric squares about 14″ x 14″.
  • Pin and sew your ribbon down (sew it to the right side of one of your squares) before sewing the two squares right sides together.
  • I like to sew a seam all the way around the outside when I’m done. It really makes the taggie look finished and keeps the two sides from rolling apart.

(Thanks for photographing today’s taggie Traci!)

One Response to “Baby Taggie”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Christmas Time is Here – Gift Ideas « The Blog Days of Sommer - November 29, 2012

    […] Baby taggies […]

Leave a Reply

