Dual Purpose Clothing

6 Aug

When it comes to dressing myself I’m pretty boring. Most of the clothes I buy are a solid color or if I’m feeling adventurous striped. I counted one time and I think I had 20 or 30 striped shirts. While I’ll probably still buy them in solid or striped I’m fascinated by items that can serve a dual purpose.

Before I spent my semester abroad my Aunt and Uncle gifted me with a pair of these fancy convertible North Face pants. I’ve got them in khaki, and while they do look a bit like tourist clothes they were perfect for my months in the Pacific Rim. They kept me warm in our cold classroom in China and while climbing Mt. Fuji in Japan and zipped off to keep me cool in the hot weather of China and on the beaches of Australia. The biggest plus though was how fast they dried. On my trip last fall to Europe I even took them along because I planned to do some sink laundry, and I knew these would be dry the next morning.

So anyway I’m always keeping an eye out for a piece of clothing like these pants where you can pack one item, but really have a couple. Nate has me hooked on Steep and Cheap which is this site that sells one deal at a time for about 20 minutes or until the item is sold out. I haven’t bought anything off of the site, but I did see this Patagonia Lithia skirt which I ended up buying a couple days later off of 6pm.com. The best part is that it’s a skirt or a top! Mine just arrived in the mail and I can’t wait to try it on.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’ve found a couple of other similar items that I’m keeping my eye on too. Patagonia’s Kamala Skirt which turns into a dress and Horny Toad’s Wind Skirt which is reversible!

Leave a Reply

